Lavender sachets

Here in the south of France, lavender grows really well. In early June, we went on holidays to the Verdon, and here is a picture of me in front of one of the many fields of lavender on the Plateau de Valensole:

DSC07875(1)

We have several plants in the garden here at home too, and this year I harvested the flowers once they started to fade. I dried them, and decided to make some lavender sachets to use up the flowers.

???????????????????????????????

I hand embroider the lavender motif onto squares of cotton fabric and stuff them with some dried lavender flowers and polystuffing. They smell wonderful!

I went a bit crazy, and made enough for my linen closets, as well as for gifts, and I still have some left over, so I decided to sell them in my brand spanking new Etsy shop! Feel free to head on over there if you’d also like some of the lavender goodness! 🙂

22 thoughts on “Lavender sachets

  1. Tamara Kate

    These are gorgeous! I love your embroidery. I’ve been trying to grow lavender to do something similar – so far I’ve got four tiny flowers on my bush haha. Have to start somewhere!

    Reply
  2. KerryCan

    Your sachets are so pretty! The hand embroidery certainly sets them apart–perfect. Have fun with your new shop on Etsy–I just passed my 3rd anniversary and haven’t gotten bored yet!

    Reply
  3. Boomdeeadda

    Oh….. the south of France has so many beautiful reasons to visit. I imagine standing in the field with row upon row of Lavendar, omgosh! That must have smelt amazing. You’ve done a very pretty job of the embroidery too. Do you use just the blossoms after the plant is dried or the whole stem?

    Reply

Leave a comment