Work in process – Giant Granny Square Blanket

Since I have learned to crochet (see this post), I decided that my next “unplugged” project (read: no sewing machine, something handmade I can make listening to music, watching television or traveling) would be a crochet project. I liked the simplicity of the basic granny square motif, so I finally landed on the idea of a giant granny square blanket to cover the sofa bed in my baby’s bedroom.

Giant granny square blanket

I chose DMC  Natura Cotton yarn, it’s made in France and I like the colours available. It’s also nice and soft. I picked ten yarns, a mix of pastel shades and brighter colours. I used a 4 mm hook. I find it a lovely project for in front of the tv, because the stitches are simple, and it’s the same the whole way round, so you don’t have to concentrate too hard. Here’s a good tutorial from the purlbee.com for the basic granny square, you just carry on to make a giant one!

I think I will do about 20 more rounds like this, and then crochet on a shell border. I’ll show you when it’s all done!

18 thoughts on “Work in process – Giant Granny Square Blanket

    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you!
      I am going to make it large enough to cover a sofa bed, I suppose the size of a small double bed. I will have to do about 20 more rounds (2 rounds per colour, and then I will add a scalloped border to finish it off.

      Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thanks! Thanks also for nominating me for the Liebster award! I already have this week’s blog post planned so I will post my answers to your questions next week! 🙂

      Reply
  1. HorseMark Cards

    What a colorful project that will look so nice on your sofa bed. Thanks for the pattern link, it will help me remember how to do this stitch. This would also be a great way to use up scraps of colorful yarns. Your ‘unplugged’ crafting idea is great; just sit and relax while making something beautiful! Enjoy your day! ~Vickie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

