Simple cushions

Last week, I was doing some organisation of my cupboards, and I found four cushion forms that I had forgotten I bought. I remembered that I had intended to make some cushions using fabric I bought in IKEA on a whim, got intimidated by the sewing machine I borrowed from my grandmother-in-law, and forgot about it. Now I have my own lovely sewing machine and I am getting more confident with it (at least, for simple projects). So I thought I could kill two birds with one stone, and make the cushions, all the while freeing up some storage space (for more fabric, maybe!).

Federika cushion

In 2011, SewMamaSew ran a “Pillow Month”, where they posted a load of tutorials and inspiration for making pillows and cushions. The first tutorial in the series was a tutorial to make a basic pillow and that’s what I used to make these. It’s an extremely simple tutorial to follow, and the thing I found most useful was the table with sizes of the pieces to cut depending on the size of your pillow form. On the above cushion, I fussy cut the flower as I thought it’s a nice motif. For the other cushion I just cut anywhere.

Ulrika cushion

For the back, it’s just a flap closure which is really easy (no zips or anything – I’m a bit nervous of zips!).

Cushion gback

The fit is slightly loose, I think that’s because of how I converted the inch measurements in the tutorial to centimeters (because I’m in France, and I’m a scientist, all my rulers are in metric!). I want to make two more cushions and I think I will round down my conversions to give a tighter fit (I like the “nearly bursting” look on cushions!). Anyway, apart from the fit (which is a pretty minor issue) I’m quite happy with my first attempt at cushions. They look so colourful and cosy on the chairs in my living room.

10 thoughts on “Simple cushions

    1. craftysorcha Post author

      I was like that too for a looooonnnng time, I did everything by hand. But I don’t know myself since I got my sewing machine. I just make sure to read the manual, also it took me a few months to get used to it.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Dresden Plate Cushion | Crafty Sorcha

  2. Teje

    Hi! I love both of your cushions! Ikea has so much great Fabrics! I have also that one with flowers but didn’t know what to make without cutting those flowers – great idea, I’ll make also pillowes! x Teje

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      I also bought that fabric without knowing what to do with it, and it was only when I was sorting my fabric that I came up with the idea for a cushion! I’m glad to give you inspiration 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Chopstick Placemat | Crafty Sorcha

Leave a Reply

