Dresden Plate Cushion

It’s my MIL’s birthday this week, as well as being mother’s day in France next Sunday, so I decided to make a homemade cushion cover for her for both occasions. I’ve always loved the Dresden Plate block but I was always a bit intimidated by it. It looks complicated to make! But I found this tutorial from Bari J and it seemed easy to follow. I’m not confident enough yet with my sewing machine to try those curved edges so I just turned them into points. I don’t think they are “pointy” enough, so I’ll change that if I make this block again.

I decided to go with a red/white colour scheme, because that goes with the colours my MIL uses in her living room. It’s nice and warm looking too! Once I finished the cushion front, I finished the cushion cover using the same method I used in my “Simple cushions” post, it’s so quick!  The longest part of the process was blind-stitching the plate onto the white material, I’ve been doing less hand sewing than I used to and I think I need a little practice again!

14 thoughts on “Dresden Plate Cushion

  1. Pingback: I’ve been nominated for a Liebster award! :) | Crafty Sorcha

Leave a Reply

