Retrospective – My first ever patchwork quilt

The last week or so, I’ve been pretty busy with non-crafty things (job hunting, spring cleaning, tackling the pile of mending I have to do!) so I thought I’d do a bit of a retrospective. This is my very first patchwork quilt! When I was doing my doctoral thesis (back in 2007/2008, I was pretty stressed out, and I wanted something that would release my creative energy, as well as relaxing me. I remember seeing a photo of a lovely nine-patch quilt a friend had made, and that spurred me into making something  patchwork myself. I bought a beginners quiltmaking book (Quiltmaking for Beginners by Lynn Kough), and I liked it because it deals with hand- and machine- piecing and quilting. I picked the first project in the book, which is the log cabin quilt.

3822810312_15c1a0dc07_o

I hand-pieced the blocks and arranged them in a “fields and furrows” pattern (if I’m honest, that’s because when I made the blocks, I didn’t realise I would need to do “left” and “right” handed blocks to make different arrangements. Ah, you live and learn!).

3980228522_aa9f34a04c_o

I also hand-quilted this, doing stitch-in-the-ditch quilting. I really enjoyed the handquilting process. I finally finished it in 2009, so it was a real labour of love! Initially, it was used as a lap quilt while watching tv, but my boyfriend thought it was so nice that he hung it on the wall in our living room (isn’t that cute? 🙂 )

I learned a lot during this process and it really got me into making things myself. I know it’s not perfect but I am proud of it and of me!

11 thoughts on “Retrospective – My first ever patchwork quilt

  1. Lil

    It’s a very good effort for the first ever patchwork quilt! And good luck with job-hunting! (If you feel like taking a couple of days of Parisian break, we have a spare room for you 😉 )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

