Giant Granny Square Blanket – Finished!

A few months back, I posted my progress on my giant Granny Square blanket. Well, I have finally finished! I started this at the start of February this year, and finished sewing in the last yarn end on the last day of June (Note to self: sew in the ends as you go along, having to sew in approximately 200 ends in one go is not very interesting!).

I used 10 colours of DMC Natura cotton, which was lovely to work with. The finished blanket consists of 80 rounds of triple crochet clusters, with a border of 10 rounds of double crochet and a shell border to top it all off.

Border and shell edging

 

While this took a while to finish, I found it really easy as a beginner project and lots of fun to do. I love the bright colours, and I think it really suits it’s function as a cover for the sofa-bed in my baby son’s bedroom.

22 thoughts on “Giant Granny Square Blanket – Finished!

  1. Red Hen

    Oh, I just love that! Have followed your link right back to the Purlbee tutorial and bookmarked it for my Someday I will Make This folder! (Yeah, it`s bulging!) Any idea how many balls of wool it took to make this one?

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you! I also have a bulging “Things I will make if I live to 120″ folder”!
      It was about 30 balls of DMC Natura Cotton. Works out a bit expensive but seeing as it kept me occupied for 5 months, that’s not too bad!

      Reply
      1. Red Hen

        It`s an heirloom piece, and also one that your little son will grow up with and be comforted by for years to come.

    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thanks very much! I’d like to see your MIL’s quilt!
      Sorry for the lateness of my reply, I was on holidays and not near the internet!

      Reply
  2. Suzanne

    This is gorgeous! I’m more of a knitter than a crocheter (and my attention span tends towards small projects) but I covet this blanket!

    Reply
  3. forestmtnhike

    Wow. This blanket is truly amazing! Do you sell any of the ones you make? I would love to learn how to knit and crotchet, maybe some day soon. But please let me know if you make and put any blankets or throws such as this one up for sale. Great job by the way! xx

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you so much!
      I haven’t thought about selling anything I make yet but perhaps I should! I’ll let you know if you like. Or would you like to commission something? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

