Block of the Month 2 – Barbara Frietchie’s Star

I got a little behind with my Block of the Month blocks. So just between you and me, let’s pretend June didn’t happen, mkay? 🙂 Last month I tackled the “Anvil” block, and this month, I made a block called “Barbara Frietchie’s Star”.

Barbara Frietchie was a woman who lived in Frederick, Maryland and during the Civil War she was a Unionist supporter. She was celebrated for the fact that at the age of 95, she waved a Union flag from the window of her house to annoy Stonewall Jackson’s troops as they passed by. The patchwork star got it’s name in the 1930’s when Helen Rockwell Adams of Needlecraft Magazine visited Frietchie’s home, saw the block in a quilt on Frietchie’s bed and gave it the name. (Source: http://civilwarquilts.blogspot.fr/2011/06/26-barbara-frietchie-star.html)

Making this block had taught me that I need to be a lot more careful when I’m cutting my pieces, and with my seam allowances, particularly when there are lots of triangles involved, I’m not terribly with my points! My next block will be better, I promise.

https://craftysorcha.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/block-of-the-month-no-1-anvil/

6 thoughts on “Block of the Month 2 – Barbara Frietchie’s Star

  1. Pingback: Block of the Month 3 – Brown Goose | Crafty Sorcha

  2. Pingback: Block of the Month 4 – Cactus Basket | Crafty Sorcha

Leave a Reply

