Fabric covered monograms

 

I’ve been wanting to make some fabric covered monograms for a while now, especially since I found this really simple tutorial from Flamingo Toes. The plan all came together when I found some cheap letter forms, as well as a Mod Podge equivalent on a recent visit to my local arts and crafts shop. I used fabric from my stash (including fabric from an old top that I don’t wear anymore!) so it worked out quite cheap in the end. I had some trouble with the inside corners (inside the “A” was particularly tricky!) but in general the process was quick and easy. All in all, it took 3 hours to finish. The letter forms are very light, so I just used blu-tack to stick the monograms to the door, which is a lot handier than having to use hooks or something!

Fabric covered monograms 2

26 thoughts on “Fabric covered monograms

  1. Nur Hussein

    Very adorable! Blu-tack is kinda icky though, it’s hard to get it out of fabric! I use it for posing minifigs and action figures for my photography projects and it’s impossible to get out of cloth!

    Reply
  2. Red Hen

    Looks terrific! Don`t worry about the blu-tack. You won`t want to be taking that down any time soon. Plus it`s really great to get your baby `into` letters as soon as you can. Love it!

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you!
      No sewing at all, just some glue and a bit of no-sew sort-of bias binding. Best to put newspaper on your surface, if you are as clumsy as me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

