Hexies – WIP

I finished my last handmade project a while back (my crochet butterfly and heart project – there’ll be a post shortly!) and so I was thinking about what I could start as a new wireless do-in-front-of-the-tv project. I came up with hexagons! I’ve decided to make some sort of Grandmother’s Garden quilt. I say “some sort” because I still don’t know what size it will be or where I’ll use it.

As with my Friendship Star quilt, I used Quilt Patis as my templates. I know they are a bit pricey and hard to get but I don’t trust myself to cut my own paper templates! So far I’ve made 100 hexies, more or less. The fabric I’m using is all fabric I have in my stash, I’m trying to be economical and not buy anymore until I’ve done at least a bit of stash-busting! 🙂

25 thoughts on “Hexies – WIP

  1. sallock

    Oh my I love those fabrics! Can’t wait to see the finished quilt or whatever you’re planning to make with them. I’m sure it will be gorgeous!

    Reply
  2. Born To Organize

    I have a friend using this pattern. She’s making a quilt for her parents using several of their retired Hawaiian print shirts. One of the things I love about quilting is the use of scraps. Small discards add up to a wonderful whole.

    Reply
  3. Red Hen

    You`re so neat! Very nice. Looking forward to seeing the whole quilt come together. (Said she who still has not fulfilled her promise to make one crochet square!)

    Reply
  4. Pingback: WIP: Grandmother’s garden, hexies so far | Crafty Sorcha

  5. Pingback: WIP – Grandmother’s Garden progress | Crafty Sorcha

Leave a Reply

