Retrospective: My first baby quilt

Today I’m going to tell you about the third quilt I ever made. It’s a baby quilt that I made for my nephew who was born in 2011. I followed the Moda Bake Shop “Stacked Coins” tutorial with a couple of changes (I only used four columns of coins) and used the “Happy” line of fabric designed by My Sister and Me.

5740265580_b39cda839d_o

This was made completely by hand, all the piecing, quilting and binding so it really was a labour of love! For the quilting, I stitched in the ditched around each “coin”, and filled the white space with wavy quilting.

5739712725_ac50d0f1a8_o

As with every project I do, I learned a lot. On the negative side, I learned that you don’t pre-wash pre-cut fabrics as this changes the size, so it was a bit more tricky that it should have been to sew the coins together. On the positive side, I learned how to do continuous binding as well as how to properly mitre my corners!

The toddler I gave this to still uses it so I’m happy! 🙂

5740261808_0dfee33717_o

29 thoughts on “Retrospective: My first baby quilt

  1. Bright Tuesday

    Wow! I am seriously impressed with this quilt. My own sewing skills are rather weak, so to see a beautiful project like this -done entirely by hand no less! – is amazing. Great work!

    Reply
  2. KerryCan

    I love that you did it by hand! The quilts I’ve made have been done by hand (you know how I feel about a machine!) and they are each so special because of what went into them. The colors in this are wonderful–I love the back!

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you so much!
      I didn’t chose the material for the back until the baby was born, because the parents kept his sex secret. Luckily, because they live far away, I had a few busy weeks to piece the back, quilt and bind!

      Reply
  3. Red Hen

    You really have such a marvellous talent. Of course the kid uses it. It`s an heirloom piece that he will keep forever and pass on to his own. What a treasure!

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      I don’t know how many hours exactly but it didn’t take a huge amount of time. I started it in January 2011 and finished it in the 3rd week of April, all done by hand and only working on it in the evenings for a couple of hours at a time.

      Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you.
      Well I’ve been blogging only since January, but I’ve been crafting for years, and I like to share some older projects with my readers!

      Reply
  4. Boomdeeadda

    Ohhh, I bet the new mom cried. I would have. How beautiful! Really fancy the colours too. You’ve gone above and beyond by HAND stitching the whole creation, OMGosh. I’ve done a few machine quilts in the past and really enjoy picking fabrics. Moda is wonderful. There’s a local gal who’ll take your project and actually quilt it all together on a computerized loom. But yours is so personal and done with love. Congratulations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

