WIP: Grandmother’s garden, hexies so far

I spoke to you all a couple of weeks ago about my current hand-sewing project – a paper-pieced Grandmother’s Garden quilt. So far I have made five flowers. It’s so relaxing and much much less awkward than paper piecing friendship stars (no problems with points, and no holes in the centre!).

As far as I know, most grandmother’s garden flowers have just one “layer” of petals, but some have two and I quite like the possibilities that gives for playing with colours. Also, it makes the flowers bigger and means fewer are needed to finish a quilt!

I like my flowers so far but I will be also using warmer colours for a bit of balance, they are a bit “cold” in my eyes so far! Do you prefer “warm” or “cold” colours when crafting? Or does it matter at all?

27 thoughts on “WIP: Grandmother’s garden, hexies so far

  1. susanklement

    Beautiful flowers. One of these days I am going to learn to quilt, I swear.

    I like to mix warm and cool colors myself. I think you have a nice warm yellow, but some red would liven things up! The colors you have a pretty now, but I do like the contrast.

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you!
      I’m definitely going to add some warm colours, pinks, reds and oranges.
      You should learn how to quilt, it’s fun! Start small with a wall hanging or a mug rug to get you hooked!

      Reply
  2. carinascrafts

    I personally would add some warm colours. But looking great so far. Can’t wait to see it finished. Hexies are so fun to do – the recent mini ones I did were great, so quick – instant flower. Best wishes, Carina

    Reply
  3. Boomdeeadda

    Those are really looking great so far. I guess I like to mix warm and cool together too. I haven’t made a quilt for some time but when scrapbooking, I like aqua and orange lately.

    Reply
  4. anneandkita

    These are looking gorgeous! I agree that some warm colors will liven it up. 🙂
    As for what I’m generally drawn to, it totally depends on what feel I’m going for! I generally prefer to have at least a little of both, though, I think. Like at least warm tones but with a purple to bring in a bit of the cool, or cool tones with green to bring in some warmth if I don’t include them both outright.

    Reply
  5. Born To Organize

    These are all my favorite colors (blue, green and purple) but that said, I like crafting with the entire rainbow. I’ve read quite a bit about the psychology of color and find it fascinating.

    The room I’m in, for instance, has a sage green accent wall (wear I rest my eyes) and three warm yellow walls. The combination works well.

    I’m not sure I answered your question, but boy was this food for thought. As for your sewing and quilting: top notch!!!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: WIP – Grandmother’s Garden progress | Crafty Sorcha

Leave a Reply

