Christmas Stockings

The 1st of December has come and gone, so I think it’s alright to mention the “C” word! Yes the Christmas season has arrived and I decided to make some homemade decorations. Normally, I have these really ambitious plans and they just overwhelm me, so I end up doing nothing. Or, alternatively, I go home to Ireland to my parents for Christmas, so there is no point decorating in France! This year, we will have our first ever family Christmas in our own place, so I thought it would be nice to give a little homemade touch to the decorations. And in order not to become overwhelmed I have decided on two easy projects for this year, one of which I will tell you about today, and the next one in two weeks.

???????????????????????????????

I made three simple Christmas stockings (one for me, one for the OH, and one for the baby), following this FabricWorm tutorial, which is nice and easy to follow. I used novelty and modern Christmas fabrics from Makower Fabrics. Overall, I had no problems, except for when it came to sewing the cuff onto the stocking: the cuff was too large and I didn’t understand the instructions for how to deal with that problem. So there is some slight puckering at the joins. If any of you reads the tutorial, can you clarify it for me?

???????????????????????????????

I was thinking about adding appliquΓ©d initials to the stockings but I think they are nice enough as is. What do you think? Also, I can’t pick which one I want for myself!

???????????????????????????????

Are you making any Christmas decorations this year? If so, what? It’d be nice to get some inspiration for next year! πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “Christmas Stockings

  1. Lil

    adorable! i’ve actually never decorated any place i’ve lived with holiday decorations, partly since we don’t celebrate christmas per se in my family, partly because i was lazy, and partly due to the fact that starting a collection of holiday trinkets costs a small fortune!

    Reply
  2. tamyraptor

    Oooh I want to try these. They look great :). I made some gold pine cones for the tree, but that’s as far as I’ve got with the home made decorations this year!

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you!
      Oh gold pine cones sound cool! I could do something like that, we have loads of pine cones here.
      I saw a cool wreath made with different coloured pine cones.

      Reply
  3. KerryCan

    I really like the stockings–you’ll use them forever and they’ll become your family tradition! I made some sweet little red and white quilt blocks one year (using your favorite half-square triangles), to hang on the tree, and we make pomanders every year, with oranges and cloves. Maybe I’ll blog about that . . . .

    Reply
  4. carinascrafts

    I would pick the one with Christmas trees on the white background for myself – although love the print on all 3. Yes I am trying finish a stocking too – I won it last year but didn’t quite finish it. Its felt and in kit form so easy enough – just need time. I also made star bunting. I will blog about it soon. I made kusudama balls a few years ago out of Christmas paper but they take a long time. Best wishes, Carina

    Reply
  5. carinascrafts

    Yes if you like origami you will love the kusudama balls. It’s quite therapeutic, once you have the pieces of paper cut. Making the petals is easy and fun but then the gluing of the petals to make the flowers and the gluing of the flowers to make the ball. It’s worth but give yourself plenty of time.

    Reply
  6. Boomdeeadda

    Very cute fabrics! I especially like the black bag round with Santa’s Jackie and other stuff on it. We usually do stockings but will skip a year. We established a limit since we’re off on a holiday soon. I always think it’s fun to open a bunch of small things though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

