WIP – Grandmother’s Garden progress

???????????????????????????????

In the last few months, I’ve posted about my new hand-sewing project (here and here, if you are interested!). I’ve put the flowers I’ve made so far together, with a white hexie border, and some mini yellow flowers between the big flowers to cut the white space a bit. I think they brighten the quilt, don’t you?

I’m happy with how it looks so far, and maybe I’ve gone a bit crazy, but I’ve been having so much fun that I’ve decided to make it into a full king size quilt! 🙂

17 thoughts on “WIP – Grandmother’s Garden progress

  1. Boomdeeadda

    Wow, you are dedicated. A Kingsize quilt will be an amazing accomplishment. I on the other hand have a cross stitch started in 1986 as yet incomplete (so close), LOL. It will be a treasure when you’re done. Do you plan to make a square on the back with the date and such. You always see that on really old quilts on the antique road show. Provenance is a virtue when it comes to inheriting an item.

    Reply
  2. KerryCan

    Sarah, this is stupendous! Really, really lovely–and it looks so perfect! I will look forward to having progress reports along the way to king size! Go for it!

    Reply
      1. Born To Organize

        That’s an idea. I love to sew and don’t get nearly enough time to pursue it. I suffer from hobby overload: reading, writing, gardening, scrap-booking, fairy gardening, regular gardening. You know the drill. 🙂

  3. MothersRuin

    Looking wonderful already! I adore quilting, but must confess that I’ve avoided hexies so far – they seem like such a massive commitment! I’d either feel guilty for never working on anything else, or guilty for leaving them TO work on something else!

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you!
      Well as it’s a long-term project with no deadline, that helps. I do it in front of the tv or listening to music, when I feel like it. No guilt feelings!
      Sorry about the delay in replying!
      Happy New Year!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

