Baby smock

Happy New Year everyone!
My little boy is really getting into feeding himself. That’s fantastic, but I’ve found that normal bog-standard bibs just aren’t cutting it in terms of protecting his clothes from food and drink spills. In the winter, it’s hard to get clothes washed and dried easily so I had to think of a solution.

???????????????????????????????

I decided on a sort of smock that would cover his entire body. I took a piece of blue cotton fabric, folded it over, and used one of my son’s t-shirts to determine the width and to trace the collar. Right sides together, I sewed this onto a towel (for absorbency). I cut out the collar from the cotton and the towel and then turned the material right side out (after trimming the excess). I finished the collar using a zig-zag stitch on my machine. Just to make it a bit more interesting, I top-stitched around the edge, as well as sewing a square of Summersville Spring fabric (by Lucie Summers for Moda) to the front of it.

I’m sorry the photos aren’t better quality but he doesn’t sit still for photo ops and now it’s being used as is a bit stained!

I’m going to make at least one more as a backup, as it’s so easy to do.

15 thoughts on “Baby smock

  1. carinascrafts

    Oh my what a cutie pie. He is so lucky to have a smart mum to come up with such a good idea – you might get some orders. I know sometimes my little man could do with one at times. Best wishes, Carina

    Reply
  2. Boomdeeadda

    He’s just a little cutie-pie isn’t he? That was a really good idea! Embarrassing, but I’m am also a messy eater and should consider one. I wear bifocals and tend to misjudge my fork at times, HA.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

