WIP – Friendship Star Quilt – Basting

???????????????????????????????

My Friendship Star Quilt top has been finished for so long (since last March!) but I’ve been putting off basting and quilting it. This is for several reasons, mostly I’ve been intimidated by it’s size, and by the fact that it will be the first quilt I’ll machine quilt!

It has been niggling at me for a while, and so I made a sort of New Year’s Resolution to finish it in the first half of 2014. I needed a free day when I had nothing else on, and had my son in day care, for basting. The reason? Well, I baste on the floor of my apartment, it takes several hours to do, and basting and toddlers running around don’t mix! ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, I decided to pin baste, because that’s what my Quiltmaking for Beginners book advises if you’re machine quilting. I’ve always thread basted previously, so this was much quicker because I didn’t have to pin first. I still ended up with sore muscles, but the finished quilt will be worth it! I plan to quilt it in the next fortnight.

One question, how far apart do you put your safety pins when basting? I’m not sure I used enough.

16 thoughts on “WIP – Friendship Star Quilt – Basting

  1. KerryCan

    Sarah, that’s beautiful! I love the variety of fabrics. You’re brave to machine quilt–I’ve never tried it and will be interested to hear how it turns out.

    Reply
  2. mosaicthinking

    Lovely top. I’m not brave enough to quilt anything bigger than a cot quilt at home – I send my bigger quilts out to a professional. I’d say the pins go in about a hand span apart.

    Reply
  3. Tawny

    It’s going to be gorgeous. I’m a bit of a beginner quilter myself, but I always put the entire collection of safety pins in the quilt and if I had more I would do that. Better to have too many and have the layers stay put while pulling it through the machine than to have not enough and have them come loose. ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to see the big finish!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Finish: Friendship star quilt | Crafty Sorcha

Leave a Reply

