Play Food Project: 1. Cupcakes

My son is just turned two, and he loves playing at cooking and eating and drinking. I’m not a huge fan of the fake plastic play food that’s available out there to buy, so I decided to started crocheting and sewing some play food for him. There are some fantastic tutorials around, so I have a whole list of cute food items to make! My first effort are these amigurumi cupcakes, which I made following this tutorial from Itsy Bitsy Spider.

???????????????????????????????

I made these using DMC Natura 100% cotton yarn that I have in my stash. I made the purple and green cupcake with a 3mm hook, as recommended for that yarn, and while it turned out fine, the weave isn’t tight enough, so I used a 2.5mm hook for the pink and yellow one, with a better result.

It’s a really easy quick project to make, it’s nice to have a short project like these that you can finish in one day.

8 thoughts on “Play Food Project: 1. Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

