Finish: Friendship star quilt

Quilt outside

TA DAAAAAAHHH! This is a finish from late 2014 of which I am very proud. Over the last couple of years, I’ve shared my progress with you all, from the completion of the quilt top, to lessons learned, to its basting. That basting was my first attempt at pin-basting (previously, I only hand-quilted, so I used thread-basting) and after starting to quilt with my sewing machine, I realised that my pins were spaced too far apart! This resulted in ugly puckers on the back of the quilt (and not little ones that I could turn a blind eye to, either!). So, I had to unpick all the teeny tiny quilting stitches I had done, and remove the pins, then re-baste. I was quite discouraged, so I left the quilt aside for several months until I was motivated enough again to finish it. This time, with the pins MUCH closer together, quilting ran a lot smoother – there are now NO puckers on the back of the quilt! It’s heavy work to pull a king-sized quilt through a domestic machine, I can tell you.

???????????????????????????????

For binding, I decided to have a scrappy binding using Pezzy prints from Moda that I had in my stash.

???????????????????????????????

I also added a label which I hand-embroidered myself.

???????????????????????????????

Here are the specs for the quilt:

Quilt size: 250cm x 220cm

Quilt top: English paper pieced diamonds, quilting cotton, poly thread. Fabric: solid white, various cotton prints. Border: Solid white cotton

Batting: Quilter’s dream poly.

Quilt back: Pearl Bracelet in Anchor by Lizzy House for Andover fabrics.

Quilting: Machine quilted with white thread.

Binding: Double-fold bias binding, using 12 different fabrics from the Pezzy line by American Jane for Moda Fabrics.

27 thoughts on “Finish: Friendship star quilt

  1. HorseMark Cards

    What a beautiful accomplishment! I’m sure you feel so relieved and excited to have finished this colorful quilt! Your label is perfect for the final touch! Looking forward to seeing what your next project will be!
    Enjoy your creative day! ~ Vickie

    Reply
  2. thesewingwren

    Just love it, Absolutely beautiful! You clever old thing! Always such a pleasure to see what you have been unto… keep crafting and blogging away for us “followers” to enjoy… thanks for sharing, Jay x

    Reply
  3. Nikitaland

    Absolutely beautiful! I am amazed at people who can quilt like this! I remember I made a quilt (once) back when I was in high school. I just wanted to be able to say that “I made a quilt”.

    Reply
  4. Born To Organize

    This is extraordinary. I’ve never quilted, though I’ve done plenty of sewing, knowing it is a long-haul commitment. Seeing yours finished and looking beautiful makes me pine for the idea of making one. Stunning job. Congratulations on getting back to and finishing the piece. I know how discouraging that sort of thing can be. There is nothing worse than having to undo all your hard work.

    Your hand-embroidered label is fetching. A quilt to be enjoyed for years and years to come.

    Reply
  5. paulineperry65

    I had not heard of the Friendship Star block – can you share the pattern and method please? Your quilt is gorgeous – LOVE all the colours – and it is so beautifully made. Congratulations on a beautiful finish.
    Pauline
    perry94022 at hotmail dot com

    Reply
  6. Kristen Jones

    Your quilt is beautiful! I love the scrappy binding you did. So pretty. I absolutely hate the binding part of the whole process. I always put it off. Lol. I only have a few quilts under my belt though and have only machine bound. My next quilt I’m going to try hand sewing to see if I like that better.

    Reply
    1. craftysorcha Post author

      Thank you so much!
      I use the machine to attach the binding to one side of the quilt, and then use invisible hand stitching to attach it to the back, I like it (Basting is my least favourite quilt step!)

      Reply
  7. KerryCan

    Sarah! This is absolutely fabulous!! I love the pattern and the scrappy look–it has a vintage feel to it. I can’t imagine the work that went into it and I really think you were smart to pull out the stitching that disappointed you and start over. You have a treasure here!

    Reply
  8. Lil

    Looking at your posts makes me wistfully daydream about buying a sewing machine, and then reality sets in that we simply don’t have that space in a teeny Parisian apartment, boo. Such a lovely quilt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

